I’ve been trying to dig more into my father’s side of the family in the past few weeks, but I have little to show for it right now, still working to write up what I find. But have found something rather interesting.

Sometime ago, I had stumbled upon the grave of a Stanley Mizejewski. While doing some research on this permutation of the name, I did manage to find a bit of history on this family.

Stanley was married to a woman name Frances Pierog. They had a child named Pawel who was born September 3, 1914 and died September 4, 1914. Burial occurred through St. Hedwig Parish and the child was buried September 5 in Calvary. The family was residing on Elm Street.

I am working to follow up on this family, but because it seems they moved into Temperance, the work has been going a bit more slowly. I cannot find any trace of a Frances Pierog and there are several families in the Toledo and southeastern Michigan region who use the Mizejewski spelling. I have some data on another family who spelled the surname this way, and hope to get a post written up about them soon. It’s slow going! These Mierzejewskis (or however you spell that name) are numerous, and it’s difficult finding some of the most basic of their data such as parents’ name or verifying their relationships. No wonder family history keeps telling me my grandmother and grandfather weren’t related. I sometimes empathize with those whose surname is Jones or Smith! According to this map, it appears as if the name is widely distributed throughout Poland, and seems concentrated near the area of origin for my grandparents (Gerwaty and Borowce, OstroĊ‚eka).

