Happy New Year!

I did spend my holiday weekend binge-reading and researching to learn more about Mary Lisiecka’s possible remarriage and I have since come to the conclusion that she hadn’t remarried. Almost three years ago, there were long, involved email conversations with several individuals and had obtained more than a handful of LDS film scans through the Sobieskis.

In one of these conversations, we were discussing the death of Joseph Plenzler, my great-great grandfather (born 1823 in Wiorek and died in 1873 in Wiorek). I had started working back in 2012 or early 2013 to read all of that documentation sent and “connect some of the dots” and I had dropped the issue and never updated my tree. I realized that I hadn’t updated Joseph’s death date and started to work some more on his life this weekend when I realized there was a record of Mary’s death in the same email. Mary, who was born in Wiorek in 1825, died in Wiorek in 1875.

Records for Joseph’s death are here and here (two pages to document).

Records for Mary’s death are here and here (two pages to document).

Mary’s record is quite clear in identifying who she is–the daughter of Aldabertus Lisiecki and Barbara Nachengast. So, there goes my theory Mary was re-married after Joseph’s death but not for naught. From reviewing this marriage record of a Mary to Joannes Olejniczak, I realized that this Mary is the daughter of Joseph and Anna Maria Bajerlein, who would be my 3rd-great-grandparents (the record does state this); however, her age is given as 45 years old and the marriage occurred in 1884, placing her birth as 1839. The eldest sibling that I can locate of the family is Martin, born 1815. This marriage was witnessed by Bartholomeus Plenzler and Martin Lisiecki. So this does give some implied knowledge: Joseph Plenzler (father of Joseph Plenzler born in 1832) and his wife, Anna Maria Bajerlein, were alive through at least 1839. I have had difficulty locating data on my 3rd great-grandparents so far beyond dates and names.  There are two pages to this record: here and here. (I neglected to include both pages on the previous post.)

Regarding Martin Lisiecki, with that email exchange that I had reviewed more in-depth this weekend, he is a brother to Mary. There was a marriage record of Martin to an Antonia Melingier contained in that discussion that indicates he is the son of Adalbertus and Barbara. That record is here and here (two pages).

As a follow up to the mention I had made in the last post regarding Bartholomeus Plenzler (brother to the Joseph born in Wiorek in 1823), here’s the data that I’ve found. He was originally discovered while research my great-great grandmother, Mary Lisiecka. See these posts from July 12, 2012 and September 30, 2012.

Bartholomeus was an interesting character to trace because like Martin Lisiecki, I had come across references to him earlier as witnesses to events such as marriages or deaths. I knew that Bartholomeus had married a Barbara Hirsch in 1850, but I had not located any children from this marriage until I started mining the Basia database. Barbara and Bartholomeus had two children that I have been able to locate: Kunegunda, born in 1853 and died in 1883. I located this child through her death record. Interestingly, she married a man named Felix Lesiecki. Also note that this record indicates that the death was reported by an Adam Plenzler. I have not identified who Adam is yet.

(Note: I have noticed Lesiecki surname spelled as Lisiecki in many documents, many sources. I’m not sure if this is due to transcription issues, whether there are two separate surnames, or other matters that I don’t understand or know yet. I realized that I have used both versions. I do not have any connection of Felix to my great-grandmother’s (Mary) family. It’s possible but I have not found one yet. I also have never standardized on the spelling of the surname as I have with my Plenzler family’s surname.)

The second child I’ve located from the marriage of Bartholomeus and Barbara Hirsch was Eva, born in 1862. I’ve identified Eva via a marriage record to Johann Teszner. Record is located here and here (two pages to document).

I was completely stunned to see that he as well married a Lisiecki family member: Cunegunda, who was also a daughter of Adalbertus Lisiecki and Barbara Nachengast. She was a sister to my great-great grandmother, Mary Lisiecki. I have not located the marriage record yet for Bartholomeus and Cunegunda, but have found a birth record for a daughter from the marriage, Barbara, who was born 9 September 1878. Cunegunda died 5 June 1882.

Bartholomeus married a third time, to Antonie Kolinska in 1882. The marriage record is here and here (again, two pages to the document).